image

“There’s been a nostalgic feeling in the air lately and I don’t know why. It’s been very familiar and I welcome it with open arms. It reminds me of the spring seasons when I was growing up in Cincinnati. Everyday I reminisce about a memory from long ago and the things that I would do on a particular day. It’s been quite calming, soothing and joyous. I have found myself smiling more and being more grateful, thanking God for the little things that make up our everyday lives. The little details that our memories are made of certainly have a way of flooding back with just a single familiar smell or sound.”

This is a post that I started a few weeks ago at the stay of spring about how it caused me to begin feeling nostalgic.  I don’t often feel that way, but I was definitely reveling in those moments because they didn’t last long. My days were sprinkled with these moments and it reminded me that spring brings with it a newness of life, hopes and dreams. Every year, I look forward to spring the most.

Now that summer is officially here (at least here in Houston it feels like it’s been here for weeks), I’ve been doing my best to live more mindful and aware these days, today is all we have & I’ve been trying to make the most of it, to be more thankful and to appreciate my trials & what I feel are the negative things that are happening. These are the things we learn from & help us to grow in appreciation to the simpler and less complex moments of life…

 

Share what makes you feel nostalgic or brings back happy memories in the comment box below, I’d love to hear from you!

