“Do the Work” by Stephen Pressfield, Art work: Cover by Vincent Van Gogh

“Do the work!”

How many times have we heard this phrase before? I’m sure more than a dozen, and not just from others, but we’ve probably told ourselves this as we’re trying to focus to get a project completed. Well, I just finished an e-book with this title by Stephen Pressfield. It was just what I needed. The premise of the book was to simply do the work. Don’t over think things, don’t stay get in your head, keep things simple, just simply get something down on paper to being and then go back to add the details.

I know all to well about trying to get every last detail right before feeling like I can begin a project, but my aim this year is to do the opposite and to begin when I have an idea and to work out the details along the way. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll still plan, but only enough to get a good starting foundation and to take action. When you allow yourself to get in your head and mull things over or think about all of the how’s and why’s about if something will or will not work, you’ve gone to far, at least in my experience. You’ll eventually find that one reason that frightens you just enough that you won’t take action. Action is required in order to do the work! Clearly!

The book talks about the biggest enemy of action – resistance. Whenever you have a great idea that you want to execute or start a new venture that you’re truly passionate about, you always come up against resistance. This resistance is to prove how badly you want to reach your desired goal. If you hang no long enough and slay the beast of resistance, you’ll reach your goal. It takes passion and a love for what you’re doing in order to keep going when you face resistance. If you don’t truly love what you’re doing and going after, you won’t make it for the long haul.

“The opposite of fear is love- love of the challenge, love of the work, the pure joyous passion to take a shot at your dream and see if you can pull it off.”

Overall, I thought that it was a great book and offered little nuggets of information that can be helpful to those who tend to over-think to the point of no action. If you follow the advice of Stephen Pressfield in his book, I’m sure you’ll get past resistance every time!

What are you working on that requires you to overcome resistance?

Like us on Facebook!

