Fashion & Editorial Photography by Debra Ham for theBLVDmag.com

Fashion & Editorial Photography by Debra Ham

 

Now that the new year is here, I’ve been thinking about all of the things that I want to work on and modify. One of the main things that I want is to regain my focus on photography and to begin shooting more personal work that is fulfilling to me. Earlier this year I realized the great importance of creating personal projects as an artist. My 365 photo project taught me that!

A favorite photographer of mine is fashion photographer Lindsay Adler. I’ve been reading through her blog, as I often do, and I have found myself re-inspired to ignite the passion that I have for photography. I aspire to be a fashion photographer and she reminds me of the zeal and attitude that I had when I was starting out. I did lots of free work and personal shoots that helped to build my portfolio. So, I asked myself, if she can do it, why can’t I? And you know? I didn’t even want to come up with a reason why I couldn’t because if feels like I’ve been doing that for too long!

 

Fashion & Editorial Photography by Debra Ham for theBLVDmag.com

Fashion & Ediotrial Photography by Debra Ham

 

Another great photographer is Jamie Delaine. I enjoy her style of work, but what I enjoy most is her honest and carefree writing style along with her love for Christ! She has shown me that I can pursue my passion and still live for Christ and be able to express that on my blog. I’m sure there’s a fine line there between the two, but I don’t want to find it just yet. Our lives are all-encompassing and many areas often overlap. Jamie has approached her blog from this perspective in order to convey her true voice and personality and I greatly respect her for that! She has allowed her light to shine and I see that I don’t (necessarily) have to separate my life from my blog, even though that’s the “norm”. I don’t have to go with the norm and it’s quite all right!

As I embark on this journey, I hope to fuse the inspiration that I have received from these two young ladies with my own personal style and blaze my own trail! This year is looking pretty hopeful and I’m excited to see what awaits me!

What are you wanting to accomplish this year? Do share!

 

