Today I had the opportunity to work with the organization “Flashes of Hope” at the Texas Children’s Hospital. “Flashes of Hope is a nonprofit organization that changes the way children with cancer and other life threatening illnesses see themselves through the gift of photography and raises money for pediatric cancer research.”

This is my second time working with them and I absolutely love it!  My first experience was last year (you can read about that here) at M.D. Anderson. I was a bit nervous at first because I didn’t know what to expect. My nerves eventually wore off, but I think that the children ended up being more nervous than I was initially. I couldn’t help but be at ease after seeing the bright spirits within the children.The Houston chapter of the American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP) had a gallery exhibit at the Printing Museum to share some of the recent images that had been created by it’s members.

Every year members of the ASMP work with Flashes of Hope throughout the year to help bring wonderful photography to children with life-threatening diseases and their families. It’s nice to be nice, but it’s even better to see the smiles on the faces of the children and their families! To learn more about Flashes of Hope, please visit their website.

