Last week when I was in San Antonio for Imaging USA, I had the opportunity to meet Celebrity photographer Matthew Jordan Smith. One of my main reasons for attending the conference was to take his class & to be able to learn more about how to break into the competitive world of commercial photography. I have been doing ok so far, but I know that there is more to learn.

Before his class started I was able to shake his hand and let him know why I wanted to take his class. After the class, I was one among the many to have my photo taken with him. Later that evening after the classes were done & the expo was being packed, we crossed paths. “Hello, again!” I said as I passed by in a hurried rush to meet my roommates for dinner.

Once we all walked the River Walk & settled on where we wanted to eat, lo & behold, he was at the restaurant which we chose also, having dinner. At that point I was going back & forth in my mind about if I should say something, but I didn’t. Besides, whom wants to be bothered while they’re having dinner.

I believe that everything happens for a reason and last night as I was laying in bed, I found myself going over the events of that day. I can’t help but to wonder if I missed out on a great opportunity to be able to just chat and learn more about the industry from someone who is where I would one day like to be. Does this all sound crazy? Did I really miss a great opportunity? What do you think I should have done?

