Back in 2009 I posted my 101 in 1,001 list of things that I wanted to accomplish in 1,001 days from the date that I started this challenge (can you tell I like challenges? Post-A-Day, Project 365…). The first item on my list was to “go natural” meaning that I would stop chemically straightening my hair. I wanted to do this because 1.) putting harmful chemicals on your body isn’t at all good for you and 2.) it was expense that I was willing to let go because it can get costly.

Well, in July of 2010 I met this goal! I went without straightening my hair for 7 months, then I had the straightened ends cut off. It took most people a few months to get used to my new look, but I loved it! It was a very freeing experience and something that I endeavor to continue for the rest of my life.

You might be wondering “what does this have to do with photography?”. Well, honestly, nothing, BUT photography is a very big part of my life and to have the life that I want, I had to make some changes. I didn’t decide to go natural because of any trend or fad, but it is a way of life and a decision that I made for me and only me. With it, I noticed that I have also began to make healthier food choices and to be more mindful of what I put on and in my body. If I want to have the best life that I possibly can and use my gifts and talents to the fullest, then I need to take care of my body.

What do you think of the new look?

