{10/365}

"Normally, we do not so much look at things as overlook them." — Alan Watts. (photo ©Debra Ham)

 

Living in the moment. What exactly does this mean? Some may say that it’s being mindful of what’s going on right now, being aware of your surroundings or recognizing what’s in front of you. To me, it means having all of my senses in tune to what’s going on as it happens. Simply, living life to the fullest.

As a photographer, we must be able to capture life as it happens. If we aren’t paying much attention to the in-between moments (which are often the best) or the little gifts that life offers us everyday, how can we be our best? By being mindful of what is going on around us we are able to give greater value to the images that we capture.

In 2010 I felt that I didn’t appreciate the small moments & the little things day-to-day thing enough. I can remember beginning my day by thinking about what I was going to do later or starting a task and not even paying attention to all of the details because my mind was some place else. I don’t want to go through another year and have it feel like it was a blur because I didn’t take enough of the opportunities given to me everyday to live in the moment.

This year I have made a conscious choice to enjoy the little things in life and to relish as many moments as I can! This will add dimension and a greater sense of joy and happiness to my life. The projects that I have begun (blog post-a-day and my project 365) have already begun to help me to be more mindful this year! Having my camera with me consistently reminds me to be aware of my surrounding and to seek out the wonderful images that are waiting to be captured.

I hope that you have been living your life to the fullest and taking in all that life has to offer. If not, will you join me in living in all of the moments that this year has yet to offer?

