This passed week was really been an eye opening one. I can’t express enough how excited I am at all of the possibilities that this year has to offer. Much prayer and introspection has gotten me to this point. What I have learned alone in this first week of the year about myself and my business has been more than I feel that I learned last year! Powerful, right?! It’s not that I didn’t learn much last year, but, I think that because my focus has been renewed and because I am committed to growth in all areas of my life, good things can’t help but to happen!

I’ve been working my way though Dane Sander’s book ” Fast Track Photographer“, which has become very popular since it’s initial release. It takes you through the critical steps of helping you to understand why you do what you do as a photographer (or any professional career). I say that I’ve been working my way through the book because it has definitely been a journey since I began reading it last year. It has really challenged me to seriously and introspectively think about what I want within my business and my life and to say it out loud! How can I have a truly successful business if I can’t clearly define what it looks like or what I want? Easy, I can’t!

The book has some really great questions that I never really thought to ask myself before to help get the juices flowing. I stop at each section and take time to try to answer these questions as honestly as I possibly can. And let me tell you, it has taken longer than a few hours or a couple of days, but I’m ok with that! I am really learning a lot about myself and my eyes are being opened everyday to what God is doing in my life!

I am so grateful for what I’ve learned both about myself and photography during this journey! I am optimistically awaiting the end result!