Hello all!!! I hope that your April is going oh so well! It has been a busy month for me so far and I am so thankful!!! Well, I am going to begin a new venture today with teaching photography to children in an after school program. I’ve never taught children about photography and I’m a bit nervous because I don’t want to overwhelm them with information. There is so much information out there about photography and many places where I could begin. But, I think that it’ll be a lot of fun and I am looking forward to not only teaching the children, but learning from them.

In preparing for this opportunity, I decided to do a web search to see what I could find and I came up with this great article from Digital-Photography-School.com called “13 Lessons to Teach Your Child About Photography”. I thought that it was pretty helpful and a good place to start. Below  are some of the tips that I’ll definitely use to help the children understand! What do you think???

1. Experiment

ExperimentLooking over many of the shots that I took in those early days shows me that I took a lot of shots of almost exactly the same things. I approached my subjects in much the same way with every shot and as a result ended up with very similar results. Teach your child how to vary their shots in a number of these ways:

  • shoot from different perspectives – up high, down low etc
  • getting in close – stepping back for a wider angle shot
  • moving around your subject to shoot from different sides
  • experimenting with different settings (teaching them about different exposure modes)
